MPA, The Project

The Monaco Project for the Arts (MPA) is a non profit association placed under the high patronage of His Serene Highness Prince Albert II.

Created in 2008 by Mrs Rita Caltagirone, with the support of Mr Georges Marsan, Mayor of Monaco and Mrs Isabelle Lombardot, Director of Pavillon Bosio, the MPA has two main missions. It supports Pavillon Bosio and promotes the partnerships and activities related to culture, art and education within the Principality of Monaco and abroad.

The MPA allows young creators to follow the post-graduate course in Pavillon Bosio and to lead research in art and scenography, by attributing two grants per year.
Moreover, it produces an annual exhibition, “MPA Alumni”, in a contemporary art gallery, as a springboard for their professional career.

Every year, MPA recognizes two students on the occasion of the annual awards presentation, organises and programs residences, partnerships and internships throughout the world.

Another role of this association is to organise and schedule the Pavillon Bosio summer exhibition called “The Project”, which presents famous artists such as Jean-Michel Othoniel in 2009, Carsten Höller in 2010, Joana Vasconcelos in 2011, Yan-Pei Ming in 2012, Gavin Turk in 2013 and Mickalene Thomas in 2014.

Within this framework, the hosted artists may offer the students to design a project related to their personal exhibition ; the collaboration with Gavin Turk therefore led to the creation of a curiosity display cabinet, gathering the students’ work on the topic of identity, also shown within the School.

Open to public, the summer exhibition has become a major artistic event in the cultural schedule of the Principality. 

MPA (registered office)
Europa Résidence,
Place des Moulins 98000 Monaco
  • President of the association : Rita Caltagirone
  • Vice-president : Didier Ottinger
  • General Secretary : Isabelle Lombardot
  • Financial Officer : Nathalie Giordano
  • Events coordinator : Vanessa Erbaggio
  • Protocol representative : Hervé Irien
  • Membership and development coordinators : Delphine Pastor and Fabiola Loffredi
  • International relations coordinator : Gheri Sackler
  • Honorary member : Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo